Annual event acknowledged Jakes’ commitment to servant leadership

DALLAS, April 5, 2013 – Bishop T.D. Jakes was among the recipients of the 2013 “Keeper of the Dream” Award presented by National Action Network at a star-studded gala and awards ceremony.

Reverend Al Sharpton and National Action Network (NAN) hosted the 15th Annual “Keeper of the Dream” Awards on Thursday, April 4, 2013 at The Sheraton Times Square in New York City. The award, given each year in April to mark the anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s death, honors those who have continued to advocate for the principles for which Dr. King gave his life.

T.D. Jakes was lauded among such notables as Award-Winning Filmmaker & Director, Spike Lee; Trumpeter, Composer and Managing and Artistic Director of Jazz at Lincoln Center, Wynton Marsalis; and Award-Winning Actress and Activist, Rosie Perez for his humanitarian leadership and community support efforts.  The proceedings also featured special remarks by Martin Luther King, III, the eldest son of Dr. King. Community

“To be acknowledged at such a monumental epoch in America’s history is truly an honor,” said T.D. Jakes. “To be acknowledged in the service to others is the culmination of a lifelong mission that answers what Dr. King called ‘life’s most persistent and urgent question,’ and that is, ‘what are you doing for others’? I’m honored to be recognized for heeding that clarion call.”

The first annual Keepers of the Dream Awards Gala were held in 1999. The Awards were established in recognition of those who continued to promote the doctrines that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. gave his life for, in their respective fields of work.

Previous honorees have included: Coretta Scott King , Magic Johnson, Mariah Carey, Cicely Tyson, Wyclef Jean, Magic Johnson, Phil Griffin (President of MSNBC), James Brown, Attorney Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr., Sean Diddy Combs, Robin Roberts (GMA) , LeBaron Taylor,  Myrlie Evers Williams, Earl Graves, Sr., Wyatt Tee Walker,  Michael Baisden, Lyor Cohen, Jeff Zucker, Sylvia Rhone, Donald Coleman, Global Hue, Russell Simmons, L.A. Reid, Geraldo Rivera, Jann Wenner, Rolling Stone Magazine, Soledad O’Brien (CNN) and more. In 2011, President Barack Obama delivered the keynote remarks.

About The Potter’s House
Located in Dallas, The Potter’s House is a 30,000-member nondenominational, multicultural church and humanitarian organization led by Bishop T. D. Jakes, twice featured on the cover of Time magazine as “America’s Best Preacher” and as one of the nation’s “25 Most Influential Evangelicals.” The Potter’s House has five locations, The Potter’s House of Dallas, The Potter’s House of Fort Worth, The Potter’s House of North Dallas, and The Potter’s House of Denver and a Spanish language church, Casa de Fe.